6:30 min mile!!

I think we should all just take a moment and celebrate the fact that today I ran a mile in 6 minutes and 3o seconds. Un-freakin-believable! You’ll have to excuse my excitement, and being as how I haven’t given you a whole lot of context on my running abilities, this may or may not be as big of a deal as I’m currently making it out to be. With that said, had someone told me this time 6 months ago that I would be able to run a mile that fast, I would have not so tactfully laughed in their face. Ok. Enough celebration.

So, I hit the snooze button this morning. At least 5 times. I had a weight workout planned for 7 Am, and though I did manage to get out of bed and feed myself, I promptly decided decided the gym was a no-go and left it at that. Clearly, motivation is a bit of an issue. Nevertheless, I redeemed myself by hitting the gym after practice with the team and managed to squeeze in a pretty productive upper body routine. Here’s a rundown of what I did:

10 min treadmill warm-up

Push up routine courtesy of onehundredpushups.com (seriously check it out, its awesome!)

5 sets of pushups, 14, 14, 10, 10, 15

Incline Dumbbell bench press 5 x 10-15 reps

Machine Pec Dec  4x 10-15reps

Dumbbell military press 3x 10-15 reps

Bent over lateral raise 2x 10-15 reps

Front shoulder raise 2x 10-15 reps

Upright row 5x 10-15 reps

 

Not really sure how much I liked this workout, but I guess it beats no workout at all.

Ok, here’s some food for thought. I recently picked up a bottle of Walden Farms 0 calorie maple syrup. (http://waldenfarms.com/products/syrup_pancake.html) I know its wrong. A part of me feels guilty everytime I use it…but I can’t stop. I’m starting to forget what oatmeal tasted like without it. I know, I know–I’m basically filling my body with copious amounts of chemical-laced artificial maple flavoring. And I really should be reducing my consumption of artifical sweeteners anyway (goodbye diet coke), but in all honesty, I would hate to see my Walden Farms Pancake syrup go. I mean, how bad can it be, right? Right?? What do you guys think??

Alrighty then, here’s the eats for today (sans ugly google images)

Breakfast:

1/3 cup oats, 1/2 scoop Optimum Whey, 1 TBS Flax Meal, 1 tbs Almond Butter, 1/2 frozen banana, AND 2 TBS (more or less) Walden Farms pancake syrup Pancake_syrup-mainLunch

1/2 cup broccoli, 1 small green bell pepper, 1/2 medium onion, 5 mushrooms, 1/2 cup diced tomato, 1 large egg

1/5 of an 87% dark chocolate Dagoba bar (i.e. sand flavored chocolate bar) 😦

Pre-Gym

Cliff Builders Bar Vanilla Almond (not my favorite flavor and not my favorite bar, but 20 grams of protein! YAY!)

Post gym

More sand flavored chocolate 😦 and a tiny bit of almond butter

Dinner still to come and will probably consist of a sweet potato and some kind of egg white concoction…oh, and an obscene amount of vegetables

That’s all for now!!

-Mags

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “6:30 min mile!!

  1. 6:30 is super fast. You deserve to be very proud of yourself.

    Aside from the chemicals, do you think that Walden Farms stuff tastes good? I bought it once several years ago and thought it was awful.

    • Hey! Thanks for the comment! I’ve only tried the pancake syrup so far, and I do agree with you, it doesn’t really taste that good. However, at 0 calories per serving, I wouldn’t expect it to taste exactly like the real thing. At the same time, I didn’t find it to be inedible. I may not buy it again, (it scares me a little bit) but it was fun to try. Glad to see that I wasn’t the only one who tried it!

  2. I would be dead if I tried a mile that fast! Way to go!!!!

  3. fitlizzio

    totally loving your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

