Green smoothie and pumpkin fail

Hey everyone!

I’m so glad the week is almost over, because after tomorrow, I will have only 7 more days until I get to go home for fall break. Im not kidding when I say this- I NEED the break.  While I’ve never been much of a “homebody”, seeing my parents and being in our old apartment always helps me “find my center” again. We also live a mile away from the beach, which doesn’t hurt either 😉

Unfortunately, I had another gym bail today. This is getting sad…and I’m all out of excuses. I LOVE working out, I don’t understand what’s going on. I have decided, however, to cut myself some slack, because it is the end of the quarter, and I really do need all my energy to push through the one week I have left. Nevertheless, I can commit to doing the best I can before I go home. Hopefully, my best entails at least a couple more decent gym sessions.

On a positive note, I added a couple new recipes to my clean eating menu:

Spinach, chocolate, carrot smoothie (its good, i promise)

1-2 cup spinach, 1/2 cup carrot juice, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate whey protein, stevia

I was really pleasantly surprised that the smoothie retained its vibrant green color despite the chocolate protein and the orange carrot juice. I’ve never actually made this before, but the end result was…incredible (if I don’t say so myself) 🙂 I would totally suggest adding a tbs of almond or peanut butter and maybe a little flax. Everything tastes better with peanut butter.

Now on to the pumpkin fail…


I tried my hand at protein pumpkin muffins…and totally overbaked them. They were dry and…spicy. Weird. Maybe too much clove? I still have half a can of pumpkin, so I’ll be giving it another try in the near future. Here’s the recipe nonetheless:

1/3 cup oats, 1 egg white, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 2 tbs flax, cinnamon, stevia, clove, nutmeg, 1 scoop whey chocolate protein. Bake at 350.

If at any point you decide to make pumpkin muffins, with or without protein powder, and you like the way they turned out, please let me know how you made them so I can figure out what I’m doing wrong 😦

As for breakfast and lunch…trust me, they were not forgotten.

1/2 cup egg whites, broccoli, onion, mushroom, green bell pepper, 2 tbs avocado

Lunch:

Sugar snap peas, broccoli, onion, mushroom, 4 oz chicken breast

Dinner:

TBD, Although I’m sensing some more chicken…and maybe a truckload of green beans. Who knows.

Thats all for now!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Green smoothie and pumpkin fail

  1. Lee

    That’s too bad about the muffins. I’ve had plenty of muffin fails in my life!

    Have fun on your break. I miss being in school.

Leave a Reply

