Squats and Snacks

Hey guys,

Another rainy day here in Savannah, except suddenly, its absolutely freezing cold. I’m a trooper though, so no whining here. 🙂

I read an article the other day in the latest issue of FitnessRx, which happens to be one of my favorite health and exercise magazines, entitled “Post-Exercise Snacks Cancel Weight Loss Benefits”. I think the title speaks for itself in that the following article encourages dieters to abstain from consuming “carbohydrate supplements” immediately after cardiovascular exercise. I am by no means a nutrionist, nor do I claim to be an authority on what any one person should do follwing their workout, but I found this article a little difficult to stomach. The author cites a study done by the Amherst University of Massachusetts, in which one hour of treadmill walking per day improved blood sugar regulation by 40%. Unfortunately, the healthy benefits of said walking were completely canceled out when the test subjects consumed a post-workout snack. Really? Does the article mention what kind of snack it was? Nope. Does the article describe the test subjects in terms of height, weight, age, level of cardiovascular endurance, or even at all? No. Does the article mention anything about the standard diets of the test subjects outside of their post-workout snack? Of course not. Thanks a lot FitnessRx, for publishing a completely meaningless article that has absolutely no valid information.

If you disagree with me (I know I was a little harsh) or have read the article and have a different opinion, feel free to let me know! I could be completely off the mark here, but I always get a little uncomfortable when magazines (especially ones as fitness specific as FitnessRx) make sweeping claims without providing the necessary information to make a rational decision.

So, major success today…I made it to the gym (!!!) And did legs. It was really cathartic for me, and even though I was only there for about 45-50 minutes, it was really nice to work up a sweat and really kill my legs. Here’s what I did:

1. Weighted Barbell Squats

Warmup- Barbell 1×20

increase weight, 1×15

increase weight, 1×10, drop weight, squat to failure

repeat 3 more times

2. Wide Leg Deadlift (Killer!)

2 x 12

increase weight, 1 x 10

3. Lunge Super Set (3 sets, 60 sec rest between sets)

Bulgarian Lunge (12 each leg)

Lunge with plate press (6 each leg)

Power Lunges (5 each leg)

note: Very painful

4. Calf Raises

4 x 15 on hack squat machine

Short and Sweet!

Here’s what I ate:

Breakfast: Green smoothie (amazing), 1/2 cup egg whites, 1/4 cup organic white cheddar

Snack 1: 1 apple, 1/2 pumpkin spice cliff bar

Lunch: 1/3 cup oatmeal, 1 oz 70% dark chocolate, 1 tbs smart balance peanut butter, 1/2 scoop chocolate whey, and the last of my Walden Farms pancake syrup

Snack 2: Gigantic plate of broccoli, orange bell pepper, and snap peas AND 4 oz chicken

(its a weird day when I eat broccoli and chicken in the middle of the afternoon)

Dinner: 1 (tiny) sweet potato, 1 egg, bell pepper, onion, 1/4 cup kidney beans, 1 tbs salsa, 1 tbs nonfat greek yourt

Snack 3: remaining half of cliff bar (i LOVE pumpkin spice cliff bars!)

If you’re still with me, I’m very impressed–this was a long one. Have a great Thursday night!!

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Squats and Snacks

  1. I guess if your goal is to be a skinny waif like person without muscle it’s a good idea not to eat afterwards…IMO 😉

  2. That’s such a weird article! Do people actually get paid to do such ridiculous research?!

    p.s. I love that you live in Savannah… I’ve never been there and have been dying to visit!

    • I know! I was very disappointed (though I still love and read the magazine, go figure). I’m fairly new to Savannah but I’m loving it so far! I only wish it was a little closer to Atlanta so I could hang out there on the weekends sometimes. Its a beautiful city though and its definitely worth a trip!

  3. fitlizzio

    i always find that a lot of the articles in fitness rx have very little research to back them up. I’ve read articles that had research tested on less than 20 people! I completely disagree with not eating carbs after a workout.

Leave a Reply

